Unsubscribe from future emails from TEAMS

You can either watch the below video or read the step by step guide.

We have introduced a new feature that allows students to unsubscribe from emails that you send from TEAMS. This is specifically when you use Email Templates and have flagged an email template as a Marketing Email, as shown below:

As you send emails using Marketing Email templates the system will automatically insert an unsubscribe link at the bottom of the email as shown below: then he/she can click on the Unsubscribe link.

Once a student clicks on the link, a confirmation message will appear.

Important: When a student unsubscribes from your emails, an automated log entry will be added under the Student Centre > Log > Contact Log.

We have also added an Exclude Unsubscribe tick box in the Email Merge for objects of Enrolments and Students. If you select this as part of your parameters when using the email merge wizard, the system will exclude any student flagged as Unsubscribe in the student entry screen from the email you are going to send.

Email Merge can be found under TEAMS button > Marketing > Merges > Email Merge. 

IMPORTANT: if you forget to select the Exclude Unsubscribe in the Email merge wizard don’t worry. When you have selected the student or enrolments to send an email to and have selected an email template to use; where it is set as a Marketing Email, and you go Finish on Step 3 the system will do a check and find any selected students or enrolments who are meant to receive the email and if the student has the Unsubscribe setting turned on it will NOT send the selected email message to them. 

How it works?

There are two ways to send emails from TEAMS, using Email Templates or manually composing an Email message. 

If you are using email templates to send emails to the students then it will not send emails to the unsubscribed students if the following conditions are true:

  1. Unsubscribe tick box is ticked on TEAMS > General > Student > Student Entry screen.


  2. Marketing Email tick box is ticked on TEAMS > Marketing > General > Email Templates for the same email template which you are using to send emails.

If any of the above tickbox is unticked, then emails will be sent to the students.

Composing Email Manually

If you are manually composing an email in the email merge wizard, we have added a new field and tick box for Add Unsubscribe Link. If you select this when manually entering email messages, the system will then do a check of the students you have selected to send the message too and if any have the unsubscribe setting turned on in the student entry screen, it will not send the email message to them. 

For the system to do this check, for manually entered email messages from the Email Merge wizard the following conditions must be true:

  1. Unsubscribe tick box is ticked on TEAMS > General > Student > Student Entry screen.



  2. Add Unsubscribe Link is ticked on TEAMS > Marketing > Merges > Email merge wizard Step 3.

If any of the above tickbox is unticked, then emails will be sent to the students.

Important: where the system is going to exclude students from receiving the email message you are sending, because they meet the conditions above, it will display the message below. This will be displayed from Step 3 – Message Selection once you have selected the finish button.